Monthly Wrap-Up – October 2019


Hello everyone,

The end of another month! Autumn has taken hold, the weather is already a long way down the path towards freezing, and the clocks have gone back by one hour here in the UK.

October was a busy month, especially at work with the start of a new term at university, and lots of events to organise. But amidst all of that, I did manage to finish five books AND complete my Goodreads Challenge of 50!

Here are the books I read in October:


The Poet X ⭐⭐⭐⭐
I Know You ⭐⭐⭐
The Ten Thousand Doors of January  ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5
Someone We Know ⭐⭐⭐
The Missing ⭐⭐⭐.5

With regards to writing, I have made a little progress with my current WIP. I have changed it to include two separate POVs and am now just over 17,500 words in. I hope I can do more in November, if I can find the time!

During the week I finally found the time to organise my blog by adding a page with a list of all my book reviews. It was time consuming, but I feel like it makes my blog much more navigable. There is still work to be done with my site layout, but this is a start.

Finally, I have some of my favourite blog posts of the month…

  • Along with a couple of other bloggers, my friend Kelly has taken part in Orentober, a monthly sequence of blog posts inspired by the publisher Orenda Books. My favourite post was her interview with its founder Karen Sullivan.
  • Haf and Anniek have come up with 31 different prompts for Blogtober, and I loved reading all their posts. A lot of thought went into them!
  • Jenn wrote an excellent list post about dispelling self-doubts as a writer.
  • A post from my friend Darina about the huge importance of endings and how they contribute to a book’s overall effectiveness.

I think that is everything! Happy reading 🙂

15 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up – October 2019

  1. Congrats on your wip progress, Stephen! I’m wondering if you’re gonna participate in NaNoWriMo? Everyone on my twitter tl is, haha!

    And congrats on setting up some more stuff for your blog! I recently upgraded my sidebar, and I love it so much. I’d definitely recommend doing it! Also, ideally, I want to create a page with all my reviews. But it just seems so time consuming, and… idk, people can just use my search bar to look for reviews? :”) But I admire everyone who has a page like that bc it’s so much work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you, Caitlin! I am not *officially* taking part in NaNoWriMo, but I do aim to get lots more writing done this month! It’s all over my Twitter as well lol.

      I’m glad you’re loving your new sidebar! I still need to do some more work with mine, so thank you for recommending that 🙂 You’re right, the review page was time consuming, but I really think it improves my blog. That way, visitors to my blog can see which books I have reviewed instead of having to navigate.

      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning my post, Stephen! It looks like you read some great books in October. I’m quite excited to read The Ten Thousand Doors of January after all the hype, let’s see if I get round to it this month. Hope November is a great month for you and good luck with your WIP!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! The Ten Thousand Doors of January is great read – possibly a little slow going at first but totally worth it in the end. Have a lovely November too, Darina!

      Like

Leave a comment