Top 5 Powerful Books Read In 2018 (Blogmas #12)


Hello everyone,

It is time for my next top five list as I take a look back at the books I have read in 2018. Some of these books have been incredibly powerful, and what helped to make them so powerful were the issues they explored, and the events they depicted.

These things were also complimented by a profound writing style that made me feel emotionally connected to the book, making them all the more effective.

So here are the most powerful books I read in 2018. I shall not forget them in a hurry!

Bone By Bone by Sanjida Kay

I found this one a very emotional and brilliant read. It handles the subject of bullying so deeply that while I was reading it, my heart was breaking for the main characters and I felt their pain. One of the best books I read in 2018.

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I read this one for the first time this year, and it is clear why this one is such a well-loved classic. It is a remarkable book, with compelling characters and issues portrayed.

The Tattooist Of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

This book is so powerful that it is hard to put it into words. It is a truly emotional and superbly written story, where the mixture of tragedy, and the love between the two main characters, was just etched in my mind when I reached the end.

How To Be Brave by Louise Beech

This one became more and more powerful as the story progressed. Indeed, it was two stories in one, and many things combine to make it such an extraordinary read, particularly when a lot of it is based on the author’s life and family.

Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

This book covered a very wide spectrum of issues, all of them in a strong but accessible way that is suitable for the young adult audience. These things, rather than the plot, are what drive this novel.

Have you read any of these books? Did you find them exceptionally powerful? Let me know in the comments!

Have a great weekend, full of happy reading 🙂

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Powerful Books Read In 2018 (Blogmas #12)

    1. Thank you, Jennifer! When combined with a strong and engaging writing style, I often find I give powerful books a high rating. I would definitely recommend Bone By Bone and How To Be Brave! Happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird is probably my favourite book ever written so I agree with you 100% here! It’s powerful and daring for its time and just so beautiful in every way. And you’ve described The Tattooist of Auschwitz perfectly too, another brilliant and very powerful book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both of those books are extraordinary, two of the best I have read this year, and I can totally understand why To Kill A Mockingbird is your favourite. I am glad you liked my summary of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, as I have sometimes found it hard to find the right words to do it justice!

      Like

Leave a comment